Have Camera Phones Devalued Memories?

Has the value of photographs in our lives declined since the advent of mobile phone cameras? I’m thinking of something like 15 or 20 years back, the late 1990s and the early 2000s. Camera, then was still a contraption dedicated for taking photographs! The photograph capacity was not limited memory card but by the number of spare film reels you had. But all that aside, when I look at photographs taken back in those years, I feel something special; an occasion, a cherished memory and the pure joy of savoring a chosen few images rekindling the long escaped memories. Narcissism had still not seeped into photographs … at least not for us ‘common men’.

Phone camera, and we are incessantly bombarded with photographs of all and everything; with ordinary and irrelevant and with ducky pouts to changing rooms, No digital make believe filter will ever catch the warmth of a sepia toned paper for me … Don’t even get me starting on how soulless and pretentious, videos appear to me … yes, I’m getting old.

Heh! What do you know? I found this, The death of photography: are camera phones destroying an artform? (The Guardian) … so I’m not quite alone.

Leave a Reply

