SOLVED: HP Laserjet Printer 1020 Plus and Win 7 x64

All around the web I’m seeing people having loads of troubles installing HP LaserJet 1020 Plus Printer; an otherwise average printer for Home-business. I was one of them; just couldn’t get the drivers to install/work on my Sony Vaio E-Series with Windows Home Basic 64 bits.

Ultimately, what surprised me tons was that when I tried to install “HP LaserJet 1020 and 1022 Printer Series Hostbased Plug and Play Basic Driver”, i.e. the bare minimum drivers from HP website, it always failed. I almost always prefer basic drivers as against bloated driver packages. But in this case, I noticed that the basic drivers were Updated on Jan 28, 2014 whereas  the “HP LaserJet Full Feature Software and Driver” was Updated on Aug 6,2015.So, bloat aside, I used this Full Feature Software and Driver and bingo! My HP Laserjet Printer 1020 Plus was perfectly installed on Win 7 x64 in a single attempt; Test Page printed fine!

Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

